SOMEWHERE BEYOND THE SEA

Book cover of featured book

Spoiler-Free Review 4/??/2024.

MELTING PLA

Dedicated lil oven to melt PLA into charms

As shared on my Insta and Masto, I've successfully 'baked' PLA down into silicone molds. After reading more (specifically in the subreddit r/3DPrinting so big thank you to that forum) I decided I would not make this a thing with my regular oven (no matter how many cool cute silicone molds I'd bought for it already) because melting plastic and cooking food should perhaps not be done in the same oven. In hindsight this is common sense, but for a little while I was like "well whatever I'm already riddled with microplastics" which for the record is Not a Great Take.

So, melting filament took a backseat. I didn't have a spare oven anywhere and I didn't know where to find one. Also, I didn't really have any filament colors I was excited to reuse or repurpose into silicone molds. Enter "Pangda 3D Printer Filament Bundle 1.75 mm 250 g Pastel Matte PLA Filament 3D Printing Materials Compatible with Most 3D Printers for Office School Classroom, 6 Spools, Total 1.5 kg (Macaron Color) " and "DASH Mini Toaster Oven Cooker for Bread, Bagels, Cookies, Pizza, Paninis & More with Baking Tray, Rack, Auto Shut Off Feature" on Amazon.
The macaron colors are adorable, and the oven is so little and tiny and adorable. I can't handle it I'm SO EXCITED! Stay tuned for the results...

Widget is loading comments...